Levi Taiji Li (University of Utah), Ningyu He (Peking University), Haoyu Wang (Huazhong University of Science and Technology), Mu Zhang (University of Utah)

In this paper, we propose VETEOS, a static vetting tool for the "Groundhog Day" vulnerabilities in EOSIO contracts. In a "Groundhog Day" attack, culprits leverage the distinctive rollback issue in EOSIO contracts, which allows them to persistently execute identical contract code with varying inputs. By using the information exposed in prior executions, these attackers unlawfully amass insights about the target contract, thereby figuring out a reliable method to generate unauthorized profits. To tackle this problem, we formally define this unique vulnerability as a control and data dependency problem, and develop a custom static analysis tool, VETEOS, that can precisely discover such bugs directly from EOSIO WebAssembly (WASM) bytecode. VETEOS has detected 735 new vulnerabilities in the wild and outperforms the state-of-the-art EOSIO contract analyzer.

View More Papers

Proof of Backhaul: Trustfree Measurement of Broadband Bandwidth

Peiyao Sheng (Kaleidoscope Blockchain Inc.), Nikita Yadav (Indian Institute of Science), Vishal Sevani (Kaleidoscope Blockchain Inc.), Arun Babu (Kaleidoscope Blockchain Inc.), Anand Svr (Kaleidoscope Blockchain Inc.), Himanshu Tyagi (Indian Institute of Science), Pramod Viswanath (Kaleidoscope Blockchain Inc.)

Read More

Reverse Engineering of Multiplexed CAN Frames (Long)

Alessio Buscemi, Thomas Engel (SnT, University of Luxembourg), Kang G. Shin (The University of Michigan)

Read More

DynPRE: Protocol Reverse Engineering via Dynamic Inference

Zhengxiong Luo (Tsinghua University), Kai Liang (Central South University), Yanyang Zhao (Tsinghua University), Feifan Wu (Tsinghua University), Junze Yu (Tsinghua University), Heyuan Shi (Central South University), Yu Jiang (Tsinghua University)

Read More

Securing the Satellite Software Stack

Samuel Jero (MIT Lincoln Laboratory), Juliana Furgala (MIT Lincoln Laboratory), Max A Heller (MIT Lincoln Laboratory), Benjamin Nahill (MIT Lincoln Laboratory), Samuel Mergendahl (MIT Lincoln Laboratory), Richard Skowyra (MIT Lincoln Laboratory)

Read More