Call for Papers: Fourth International Workshop on Automotive and Autonomous Vehicle Security (AutoSec) 2022

Please note this workshop has been rescheduled to Sunday, 24 April 2022.

Ground and aerial vehicles such as cars, buses, trucks, airplanes, and drones make the whole world increasingly convenient and connected. Due to their growing usage and highly safety-critical nature, security/privacy problems pose direct threats to passengers, owners, operators, as well as the environment. Recently, there has been a substantial demand to increase vehicle autonomy and connectivity, such as autonomous driving, drone delivery, vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication, intelligent transportation, and drone swarm. Such trends further exacerbate security/privacy problems and require urgent attention from both academia and industry. To meet this critical need, the AutoSec workshop will bring together an audience including university researchers, scientists, industry professionals, and government representatives to contribute to new theories, technologies, and systems for security/privacy challenges in all kinds of current and emerging vehicles, and their supporting infrastructures, especially on the emerging technologies such as autonomy, driver assistance, and connectivity.

AutoSec 2022 will be held in a hybrid fashion in conjunction with the Network and Distributed System Security Symposium (NDSS) 2022.

Demo session: AutoSec will feature a demo session to allow academic researchers and industry companies to share demonstrations of their latest attacks, defenses, tools, or systems on automotive and autonomous vehicles.

Awards: All accepted papers and demos will be considered for Best Paper Award and Best Demo Award. The winner and runner-up will win cash prizes. In addition, a special AutoDriving Security Award will be given to one of the accepted papers to recognize and reward research that makes substantial contributions to secure today’s emerging autonomous driving technology. We may also provide a few Travel Awards for students with paper/demo contributions.

Areas of Interest

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Embedded/sensor/analog security and forensics
  • Secure perception, localization, and planning in autonomous vehicles
  • Safety/security verification for autonomous driving/flight
  • In-vehicle network, e.g., CAN bus, and Vehicle-to-everything (V2X) security
  • Compliance with legal, safety, and environmental policies
  • Secure integration of hardware and software systems for automotive and aerial vehicles
  • Secure software/hardware updates in automotive and aerial vehicle settings
  • Privacy challenges in automotive and aerial vehicle settings, e.g., driver and passenger privacy, drone spying, etc.
  • Privacy-preserving data sharing and analysis in automotive and aerial vehicle settings
  • Electric/medium/heavy-duty vehicle system security
  • Security/privacy in Intelligent Transportation System (ITS), e.g., vehicle platooning
  • Supporting infrastructure, e.g., charging, security for automotive and aerial vehicles
  • Secure software/hardware development, e.g., debugging tools, emulators, testbed

Submission Instructions

We accept (1) regular papers with up to 6 pages, (2) short position papers or work in progress papers with up to 4 pages, and (3) demo papers with up to 1 page, all in double-column NDSS format. The page limits do not include bibliography and well-marked appendices, which can be up to 2 pages long for each regular or short/work-in-progress paper, and up to 1 page long for each demo paper.

Submissions can be anonymized for review, but this is not required. Demo papers must have “Demo:” in their titles. Submission of papers and demos is through the Easychair conference system at

The proceedings will be published by the Internet Society after NDSS.

Important Dates

  • Paper Submission Deadline: Anywhere-on-earth (AOE) 10 January 2022
  • Notification of Acceptance:  10 February 2022
  • Camera Ready Submission: 17 February 2022
  • New conference dates: 24 – 28 April 2022 (rescheduled from February to April)

Program Co-Chairs

  • Qi Alfred Chen, University of California, Irvine
  • Ziming Zhao, University at Buffalo
  • Z. Berkay Celik, Purdue University

Technical Program Committee

  • Houssam Abbas, Oregon State University
  • Antonio Bianchi, Purdue University
  • Gedare Bloom, University of Colorado Colorado Springs
  • Alvaro Cardenas, University of California Santa Cruz
  • Stephen Checkoway, Oberlin College
  • Dongyao Chen, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
  • Michael Clifford, Toyota
  • Jeremy Daily, Colorado State University
  • Soteris Demetriou, Imperial College London
  • Sriharsha Etigowni, Purdue University
  • Tom Forest, GM
  • Ryan Gerdes, Virginia Tech
  • Guofei Gu, Texas A&M University
  • Shengjian Guo, Baidu Security
  • Xiali Hei, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • Bardh Hoaxa, Toyota Research Institute North America
  • Hongxin Hu, University at Buffalo
  • Shalabh Jain, Bosch Research
  • Xiaoyu Ji, Zhejiang University
  • Zbigniew T. Kalbarczyk, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Chung Hwan Kim, University of Texas at Dallas
  • Taegyu Kim, Purdue University and Pennsylvania State University
  • Vireshwar Kumar, IIT Delhi
  • Ming Li, University of Arizona
  • Zhiqiang Lin, Ohio State University
  • Peng Liu, Pennsylvania State University
  • Xiapu Luo, HongKong Polytechnic University
  • Ben Nassi, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  • Miroslav Pajic, Duke University
  • Karthik Pattabiraman, University of British Columbia
  • Mert Pesé, University of Michigan
  • Jonathan Petit, Qualcomm
  • Sara Rampazzi, University of Florida
  • Indrakshi Ray, Colorado State University
  • Kemal Tepe, GM
  • Dave (Jing) Tian, Purdue University
  • Yuan Tian, University of Virginia
  • André Weimerskirch, Lear Corporation
  • Luyi Xing, Indiana University
  • Fengwei Zhang, Southern University of Science and Technology
  • Ning Zhang, Washington University at St. Louis
  • Qi Zhu, Northwestern University

Steering Committee

  • Gail-Joon Ahn, Arizona State University
  • David Balenson, SRI International
  • Chunming Qiao, University at Buffalo
  • Mani Srivastava, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Gene Tsudik, University of California, Irvine